Captivity

I am happy, can’t you tell?
I am provided for.
Food appears,
toys and water too.
See how I play?
Or try to at least.
I am allowed out,
a very long leash
some would say.
Just as long as I
check-out thoroughly before,
check-in whilst out,
and when I’m about to return.
Safety first.
We would not want
me running loose,
the world is very big
they tell me,
full of sharp-tooth predators,
I know.
Just once,
or maybe for forever,
I would love to breathe in
air that isn’t borrowed.
I would love to be considered
“free range”.
Lucky cows.

Leave a Reply

