A Friendly Stroll

“Where are all the men?”

“What do you mean?”

“I want a modern day Don Quixote to find me, his Dulcinea.”

“Don Quixote was crazy, and since when are you a prostitute?”

“You know what I mean! I’m Juliet without her Romeo.”

“Do I seriously have to say the downside to that one?”

“Fine. How bout the Heathcliff to my Catherine?”

“Have you read any of these stories? He was violent and devious, and she was a gold digging hussy that ditched his hairy-moor-lounging butt.”

“Arthur to my Guinevere?”

“So you’re going to cheat with a guy named Lance?”

“Man, where are all the ladies these days?”

“They’re trying to find the Edward to their Bella.”

“I don’t want an overly possessive whiny little boy, I want a gentleman. I want my Mr. Knightley.”

“Now that’s a good one! But you’re missing a key part of all romances.”

“Oh yeah, and what’s that smarty pants?”

“Love that lasts, like Emma and Mr. Knightley, or Aragorn and Arwen…”

“Lord of the Rings, really?”

“Those books are brilliant, you shut your mouth!”

“Sorry, I just don’t think romance when reading about a little dude with fury feet carrying an evil ring.”

“That is my point! Your ‘great love’ isn’t just going to see you and want to go on a quest to earn your hand in marriage. When you find each other, it may not be all fairy dust and instantaneous mushy-gushiness, but he will treat you like you deserve to be treated. So stop being crazy and wait, because it will take time to let yourself fall, but when the time comes, it will be magic.”

“I thought you said there wouldn’t be any fairy dust?”

“Oh I give up!”

“Hey Nikki?”

“What Lo?”

“I miss our walks and talks.”

“Me too.”

“Love you Dragonfly.”

“Love you Butterfly.”

Leave a Reply

